Browse Our Top Categories

Difficulty of Engineering? Options ▼
l3af
#1 Posted : Monday, June 11, 2012 10:31:40 PM

I'm considering getting an undergrad in mining engineering. My question is whether or not is is relatively difficult compared to other engineering disciplines.

Now before anyone starts chewing me out for taking the easy way out of things, I'm asking this because I ultimately want to go to law school, and for that you need a very competitive GPA.

Is it reasonable to expect a GPA over 3.5 if I put in the effort. I'm not a prodigy, but I am a hard working determined student.
If anyone here has taken mining engineering or a similar field, PLEASE reply.
Thank-you.
leafs2013
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 12:13:13 AM

3.5 is pretty tough to get, its going to be a lot more effort than other courses, I mean it.

But when I hear engineering degree, there is always some one that mentions law, so if your ok with staying in to finish that project rather than goin out with the criminology kids, do it.

Minning engineering pays well too

Serious Business

York- African Studies --> Rejected
Nippissing- Commerece --> Rejected
Laurentian- Communication --> Rejected
Algoma- Anishinaabemowin --> Waiting

UofT- Engineering Science --> Waiting (Pleasee)
TigerBlood
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 12:32:36 AM

why are you going through engineering if you are set on law school?! why not take poli sci where you can excel in and actually stand a chance of getting into law school. big question for you is how much do you like engineering?! do you like it enough to put your law school admission at risk?!
A rule, that works most of the time, is that you subtract 10% from your high school average to get your uni gpa. Not true for all cases but it gives you a general picture.

l3af
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 12, 2012 12:41:07 AM

Thanks for the feedback guys, I really appreciate it :)