Browse Our Top Categories

HELP!!! Guelph vs. Queens vs. Mac. vs. UofT vs. Western FOR LIFE SCIENCES Options ▼
Lorbear29
#1 Posted : Saturday, September 01, 2012 12:22:18 AM

Hello, I am a grade 11 student (about to go into grade 12). I am really interested in studying life sciences in university. I'm most interested in bio, although I am unsure about what specifically I want to get into (maybe genetics???)

I've been looking at possible universities, with Guelph, queens, mac, western and U of T being my top picks.

My grade 11 marks are:

English-89% Functions-90% physics-95%(i worked really hard for this) bio-95%
Art-90% chem-96% (don't be fooled by this mark, I had a really easy teacher)
(for extra-curriculars I play soccer, am on the school yearbook committee, and volunteer at a daycare)

I know U of T has a VERY good reputation, but I've also heard that it is EXTREMELY difficult. Also, the class sizes are very large, and this doesn't really appeal to me. All of my friends also going into life sciences have UofT as their top choice,and I feel that I am the only one who doesn't want to go there! In my opinion UofT seems kinda intimidating for my undergrad, but I could be wrong. (Just so you know, I live about 15 minutes away from the Mississauga campus, so commuting wouldn't be a problem)

I've heard AMAZING things about Guelph's life science programs (right now it's probably my top choice). I like that it's a mid-sized school with new equipment, and it's also well rated among students (according to that Maclean's university guide).

I've also heard really good things about Queen's life science programs (also well rated by Maclean's)

I haven't done much research about Western yet. I've heard it's a party school, and parties aren't really my thing LOL